Skip to main content

WorkSource Georgia Mountains

The Workforce Investment Act (WIA) of 1998 was the first major reform to the education and training opportunities funded by the federal government in over 15 years. The funding provides education and training to eligible individuals to enhance their current skills or learn a new trade. Individuals seeking assistance through the WorkSource Georgia Mountains must be a resident in one of the following counties or is/was employed by a company whose business is/was within the Georgia Mountains service area. Our Service Area is comprised of the following thirteen counties: Banks, Dawson, Forsyth, Franklin, Habersham, Hall, Hart, Lumpkin, Rabun, Stephens, Towns, Union and White.  WorkSource Georgia Mountains is operated by Georgia Mountains Regional Commission.

WorkSource Georgia Mountains (WSGM) assists with educational expenses (tuition, fees, books, required supplies, gas, and childcare) for up to two years. North Georgia Technical College may refer students to WorkSource Georgia Mountains as a supplemental source of funding for college. WorkSource Georgia Mountains is a separate entity and requires a separate application process.

Assistance is available for qualified students preparing for "Growth and Demand" occupations. View the Complete "Eligible Provider & Growth and Demand" List.

Overview Sessions

Group overview sessions and one-on-one application assistance sessions are held the second Wednesday of each month on the Clarkesville Campus. Group overview sessions are held at 11:00pm and 1:00pm in the downstairs student meeting room in the Student Center, located on the bottom level of the Carlton Center. One-on-one Application Assistance Sessions are held from 3:00pm - 4:00pm in the NGTC Library, on the top floor of the Carlton Center. Call for meeting dates on the Blairsville (706-439-6316) and Currahee (706-779-8136) campuses.


Contact Information

Learn more about WSGM