Driver’s Education

Economic Development > Continuing Education > Driver’s Education

Learning To Drive

Learning to drive can be overwhelming! With classes at all three of our campuses in Clarkesville, Currahee and Blairsville, you can fulfill the Joshua’s Law requirements and be better prepared to get your driver’s license.

2022 Class Schedule

4 Days (30 hours) of classroom instruction: 8:00 a.m.- 4:30 p.m.
6-Hours behind the wheel instruction: Times will be scheduled individually.

Campus Dates
Currahee

Jan. 15, 16, 17 & 22
May 14, 15, 21 & 22
June  27, 28, 29 & 30
July 18, 19, 20 & 21
Oct 8, 9, 15 & 16

Clarkesville

Feb. 19, 20, 26 & 27
April 2, 3, 9 & 10
June 20, 21, 22, 23
July 11, 12, 13 & 14
Sept 17, 18, 24 & 25
Nov. 19, 20, 21 & 22

Blairsville

March 12, 13, 19 & 20
June 6, 7, 8 & 9
July 25, 26, 27 & 28
Dec 17, 18, 19 & 20

Ready to Register?

Ready to register? Click the button to get the forms to complete your registration. The complete packet and payment must be received no later than one week prior to the class start date. 

Register Online

Registration Forms

carol.jackson@northgatech.edu

About the Program

We offer classes at all three of our campuses in Blairsville, Clarkesville, and Currahee. Our upcoming classes are listed below. Course fee is $350* and includes the 30 hours of classroom instruction as well as 6 hours of drive time with an instructor. 

Please read the following information before registering for your preferred class. 

  • Students must attend all class sessions
  • Student must complete a total of 6 hours of behind the wheel training. Prior driving experience is required in order for the student to receive the maximum benefit from the sessions.
  • In-Class training will meet from 8:00 am-4:30 pm with breaks and a 30-minute lunch. 
  • Space is limited for sessions, and classes will be filled on a first-come, first-served basis
  • A Valid learner’s permit is required to participate; no exceptions.
  • Registration is due no later than 5 business days prior to class start date. 

*fee is payable by check, cash, card, or scholarship voucher

Registering for Driver's Education

1

Step One (optional): Apply for the Grant Scholarship from GDEC

The Georgia Driver’s Education Commission offers the Georgia Driver’s Education Grant Scholarship Program to offer driver’s education to Georgia students. The grant scholarship program is open to Georgia residents ages fifteen through seventeen who wish to satisfy the Joshua’s Law driver’s education requirement by completing thirty hours of classroom instruction and six hours of behind-the-wheel driving instruction with an approved instructor. 

Step 1: Apply for the scholarship. 
Step 2: Wait until you receive a redemption code via email before registering for a course. 
Step 3: Once a scholarship is awarded, forward the email from GDEC to NGTC Driver’s Ed Coordinator:

Carol Jackson
carol.jackson@northgatech.edu

Apply for the Scholarship

Remember: You have 30 days after the award date of your scholarship to register for a course. Please register immediately! We cannot extend this deadline. 

2

Step Two: Submit Registration Paperwork by Deadline

Submit the full registration packet (available below) to the department. 

Required Documentation:

Completed Registration Packet

Color photo/copy of valid Learner’s Permit

Course fee of $350 payable by credit/debit card, check or scholarship voucher

 
3

Step Three: Attend the Classroom Instruction Portion

The classroom portion consists of 30 hours of instruction with a final exam at the end of the class. You should pass this portion in order to move on to the driving instruction.

4

Step Four: Behind the Wheel Driving Instruction

The final step is to drive! Please practice driving at least 10 hours with your student in order to get the most out of the behind-the-wheel driving sessions. 

Scheduling information will be sent to you after the final day of the classroom instruction. 

Updated: April 5, 2022 - CARES Act, CRRSAA, & ARPView the CARES Act, CRRSA & ARP Information