NGTC Earns Distinguished Awards for Boards, Volunteers

About Us > News > NGTC Earns Distinguished Awards for Boards, Volunteers

Clarkesville, GA — North Georgia Technical College (NGTC) recently received top awards from the Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG) honoring the college’s board members and volunteers.

Board of directors earns TCDA board certification

The NGTC Board of Directors earned the Technical College Directors’ Association board certification for the entire board for the ninth consecutive year.

To earn the designated certification, all board members must complete professional development workshops consisting of new board orientation/governance; relationship building with elected officials, community advocacy; legislative budgeting process and financial management of technical colleges and an elective workshop. Members must also attend 80% of local board meetings, tour the local technical college, and attend a TCSG State Board meeting or TCSG Leadership Conference.

Members of the NGTC Board of Directors for 2020-21 who each earned this distinction include Chair Rebecca Stovall of Lavonia, Mitchel Barrett of Cleveland, Ron Barden of Rabun Gap, Chan Caudell of Cornelia, Jane Brackett of Blue Ridge, Rope Roberts of Clarkesville, Cliff Bradshaw of Blairsville, Dr. Jim Wade of Toccoa, Julia Barnett of Blairsville, and Gilbert Barrett of Demorest.

NGTC Foundation board designated as role model board from TCFA

The NGTC Foundation Board of Trustees received an award for attaining role model foundation board certification from the Technical College Foundation Association (TCFA), marking the sixth consecutive year for this distinction.

TCFA is a membership organization that represents the 25 TCSG foundations and over 600 trustees statewide. The TCFA Role Model Foundation Board Certification is an honor bestowed on the TCSG foundations that engage in best practices in nonprofit governance, board management, and operations; have policies in place to ensure compliance with state and federal regulations, especially in financial matters; are led by a board of trustees whose members are actively engaged in the foundation’s development activities; and support the professional development and state-level participation of their trustees, executive director and college advancement personnel.

Members of the NGTC Foundation 2020-21 Board of Trustees include: Chair Jana Cheek of Toccoa, Lyn Allen of Martin, Greg (Mully) Ash of Helen, Tim Ash of Clarkesville, Janine Bethel of Tiger, Hilda Burke of Clarkesville, Gary Davis of Lavonia, Whit Diggs of Toccoa, David Foster of Cornelia, Joe Hatfield of Clarkesville, Don Higgins of Cornelia, Jason Hogan of Cleveland, Stewart Sayer of Mt. Airy, David Semones of Toccoa, Rick Story of Rabun Gap, Rev. David Tinsley of Young Harris, Carnie Wall of Hiawassee, Cassandra Wilkins of Eastanollee. Emeritus members include Bob Evans of Hiawassee, Pam Spangler of Sautee, Dr. Stephen Tilly of Toccoa and Shirley Wilkinson of Cornelia.


Upcoming Events

Updated: April 2, 2024 - CARES, CRRSAA, ARP & SSARPView the CARES Act, CRRSA & ARP Information and Covid-19 Guidance